Driving While Intoxicated

DWI Penalties in Texas (1st Offense)

When a person is accused of a DWI related offense in the State of Texas, for the first time, the criminal penalties are not as harsh as those for habitual DWI offenders or for persons charged with felony DWI offenses like intoxicated manslaughter.

For persons accused of a first offense DWI there’s a potential for fine of up to $2000, a jail sentence of 72 hours to 180 days, and Texas drivers license suspension which can last from 90 days to one year. Contact the law offices of Tad Nelson and Associates if you’ve been charged with a DWI offense in Houston.

Subscribe to RSS - Driving While Intoxicated